Lunar Resort: Russia plans to build observatory, lab on Moon

Lunar Resort: Russia plans to build observatory, lab on Moon

We may soon be able to take a not so ‘grounded’ look at what’s going on in space. Russian scientists are planning to build a space observatory right on the moon’s surface, beginning with a robot research lab in the near future.

[msa-ads data-ad-client=”ca-pub-6965588547261395″ data-ad-slot=”7732882042″]

Curiosity Closes in on its New ‘Home’

Curiosity Closes in on its New ‘Home’

With Mars looming ever larger in front of it, NASA’s Mars Science Laboratory spacecraft and its Curiosity rover are in the final stages of preparing for entry, descent and landing on the Red Planet at 10:31 p.m. PDT Aug. 5 (1:31 a.m. EDT Aug. 6). Curiosity remains in good health with all systems operating as expected. Today, the flight team uplinked and confirmed commands to make minor corrections to the spacecraft’s navigation reference point parameters. This afternoon, as part of the onboard sequence of autonomous activities leading to the landing, catalyst bed heaters are being turned on to prepare the eight Mars Lander Engines that are part of MSL’s descent propulsion system. As of 2:25 p.m. PDT (5:25 p.m. EDT), MSL was approximately 261,000 miles (420,039 kilometers) from Mars, closing in at a little more than 8,000 mph (about 3,600 meters per second).

And just to remind you what happened 8 years ago:


More information:

http://mars.jpl.nasa.gov/msl/
http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/news/press_kits/MSLLanding.pdf
http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/msl/index.html